Canon Media Awards 2015 Finalists Announced

Canon Media Awards 2015 Finalists Announced

Finalists for the 2015 Canon Media Awards have been named today with the full list available on 

The winners will be announced at the awards presentation dinner in Auckland on the evening of Friday, May 22. Tickets are now on sale. 

Commemorating the 175th year of newspaper publishing in New Zealand, the awards presentation will also underline the importance of media freedom and honour the memories of journalists killed or injured doing their job. 

From nearly 1600 entries, 204 finalists have been chosen by 39 independent judges in four countries. The awards span newspapers, magazines and digital media and include journalism created by reporters, specialist writers, web teams, photographers, designers, columnists and cartoonists. 
Award highlights will include Canon Newspaper of the Year, Best Website and Magazine of the Year. The prestigious Wolfson Fellowship – offering a 10-week study programme at Cambridge University in the UK – will also be awarded to an outstanding individual journalist. 

The awards are owned and organised by the Newspaper Publishers’ Association with Canon New Zealand as naming rights sponsor. Other sponsors are Bauer Media Group, Norske Skog, Google, Seafood New Zealand, the Cartoon Archive, Science Media Centre, Competenz, Skycity, The Wine Portfolio and Moa Brewing Company. 

For tickets and tables, email or phone 09 306 1642 

News updates

Sign up to receive updates from the Newspaper Publishers' Association.

Sign up

Contact us

Let us know how we can help and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.

Get in touch