Rotorua photographer takes supreme award

Rotorua photographer takes supreme award

Photographer of the Year at the Canon Media Awards on Friday night went to Stephen Parker from NZME regional newspaper, Rotorua Daily Post.

Not only did Parker receive this photographic accolade at the awards dinner in Wellington, he also won Best Portrait and Best Sports Photo.

Parker’s thought-provoking portfolio included a local Kaumātua’s funeral, deprived children warming themselves in front of an oven, and action shots in the water.

The photographic judging panel included former New Zealand photographers Mark Baker and Rob Taggart, now with the American news agency AP in London and Jakarta respectively, and former New Zealand Herald photographer and editorial manager Wayne Harman.

Kim Conner, Managing Director at Canon New Zealand, says that Canon were proud to support New Zealand’s most outstanding photojournalists for the 11th year running at the Canon Media Awards.

“These winning images highlight the incredible photographic talent we have across the country and it’s fantastic to see them recognised by the industry at this wonderful event,” says Conner.

Among the many other accolades, Waikato Times/ photographer Peter Drury won Best News Photo for coverage of the Nepal earthquake, while fellow Fairfax photographer Grant Matthew was judged Junior Photographer of the Year.

Best Environmental Photo, sponsored by Seafood New Zealand, went to underwater photographer Richard Robinson for a close-up photo of a blue shark in South Pacific waters while his series on mako sharks, filmed off Auckland’s west coast, won Best Photo Essay.

The top video award went to Iain McGregor of The Press for his gripping portfolio, which included Thai children’s fights and use of 1080 poison.

These photographic and video awards are part of the national Canon Media Awards, staged by the Newspaper Publishers’ Association with Canon New Zealand as principal sponsor.

Full winners’ list

Best Feature Photo Andy Jackson - Fairfax Media

Best Feature Video Mike Scott - Fairfax Media

Best Portrait Photo Stephen Parker - Rotorua Daily Post

Best Environmental Photo Richard Robinson - NZ Geographic

Best Photo Essay/Slideshow Richard Robinson - NZ Geographic

Best Sports Photo Stephen Parker - Rotorua Daily Post

Best Sports Video Nick Reed - The New Zealand Herald

Best News Photo Peter Drury - Waikato Times/

Best News Video Andy Jackson - Fairfax Media

Videographer of the Year Iain McGregor - The Press

Junior Photographer of the Year Grant Matthew - Fairfax Media

Photographer of the Year Stephen Parker - Rotorua Daily Post


#cmanz2016 @CanonNZ

News updates

Sign up to receive updates from the Newspaper Publishers' Association.

Sign up

Contact us

Let us know how we can help and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.

Get in touch