2013 winners

Showcasing the best in New Zealand journalism.


Senior Press Photographer of the Year
Junior Press Photographer of the Year
Best News Picture 
Best Sports Picture
Best Photo Essay or Slideshow
Best Feature Photo
Best Portrait

Stephen Parker - Daily Post
Emma Allen - Marlborough Express
Kent Blechynden - The Dominion Post
Iain McGregor - The Press
Richard Robinson - NZ Herald
Natasha Martin - The Timaru Herald
Robert Kitchin - Manawatu Standard


Best Digital Breaking News Coverage
Best Innovation in Multimedia Storytelling
Best Innovation in New Technologies
Best Digital Community Interaction
Best Online News Site
Best Website
Best Video

West Auckland Tornado - NZ Herald
Zone Life - The Press
Windows 8 App - NZ Herald
Zone Life - The Press
Mike Scott - Waikato Times


Best Newsstand Magazine
Best Trade or Professional Magazine
Best Magazine Design
Magazine Feature Writer of the Year
Magazine Feature Writer Business & Science
Magazine Feature Writer Politics
Magazine Feature Writer Arts and Entertainment
Magazine Feature Writer Social Issues
Magazine Feature Writer Sport
Magazine Feature Writer Lifestyle

NZ Geographic
Young Country
Mike White
Rebecca Macfie - NZ Listener
Mike White
Mike White
Aaron Smale - Mana
Duncan Greive
Donna Chisholm


Canon Newspaper of the Year
Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation)
Newspaper of the Year (over 30,000 circulation)
Weekly Newspaper of the Year
Community Newspaper of the Year
Best Newspaper Design
Best Newspaper Inserted Magazine
Senior Reporter of the Year
Junior Reporter of the Year
Reporter Science & Environment
Reporter Sport
Reporter Politics
Reporter Human Relations
Reporter Business
Reporter Arts & Entertainment
Reporter Lifestyle
Senior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year
Junior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year
Newspaper Feature Writer Science & Environment
Newspaper Feature Writer Sport
Newspaper Feature Writer Politics
Newspaper Feature Writer Human Relations
Newspaper Feature Writer Business
Newspaper Feature Writer Arts & Entertainment
Newspaper Feature Writer Lifestyle

NZ Herald
Bay of Plenty Times
NZ Herald
The Dominion Post
Kapi-Mana News
NZ Herald
The Business - NZ Herald
David Fisher - NZ Herald
Sam Boyer
Jamie Morton - NZ Herald
Simon Plumb - Sunday Star Times
Phil Kitchin - The Dominion Post
Jared Savage - NZ Herald
Rob Stock - Sunday Star Times
Seamus Boyer - The Dominion Post
Bronwyn Torrie - The Dominion Post
Adam Dudding - Sunday Star Times
Aimie Cronin - Waikato Times
Russell Blackstock - Herald on Sunday
Ben Stanley - Sunday Star Times
Tracy Watkins - The Dominion Post
Tony Wall - Sunday Star Times
Geoff Cumming - Weekend Herald
Catherine Woulfe - Sunday Star Times
Aimie Cronin - Waikato Times


Best Investigation
Student Journalist of the Year
Best Artwork
Cartoonist of the Year
Best Columnist
Editorial Writer of the Year
Best Headline
Reviewer of the Year
Wolfson Fellowship to Cambridge

Phil Kitchin
Jenna Lynch - Waikato Times/Wintec
Anna Crichton - NZ Herald
Peter Bromhead
John Armstrong
Virgina Larson
Jonathan Milne
Diana Witchel
Mike White - North & South


Contact us

Let us know how we can help and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.

Get in touch

News updates

Sign up to receive updates from the Newspaper Publishers' Association.

Sign up